The Seven Elements Of Healthy Communities

The Seven Elements of Healthy Communities is a framework for categorizing those components that should be present in any dynamic community. The purpose of the framework is to provide a means of evaluating whether each component of the community is being addressed in such a way that the community is vital and sustainable over the long term. By focusing on all of the Seven Elements, community members can determine whether there are deficiencies in areas that should be addressed in order to insure that the community continues to move forward in a positive direction.

The Seven Elements of Healthy Communities takes a broad look at the subject of health, recognizing that it is more than the absence of illness. Instead, it is a recognition that the quality of residents’ lives are a function of a number of factors. Healthy communities, then, are those that address a wide range of needs their residents have.

More information about each of the Seven Elements of Healthy Communities is available by clicking on the following links:

Arts and Culture
Basic Needs
Neighborhoods and Communities
Economic Opportunity
Health and Wellness